Relocating from the Garden City Shopping Centre prior to the beginning of this long, dry, stinking hot summer to a semi-outdoor location in Winthrop was a surprising move (I suspect motivated by economics), but for this place I would have followed them to the Sahara!

When you rock up at Winthrop Village on Somerville Road, you could be forgiven for thinking that the place with the sign showing burgers and sausage rolls and milk shakes was just your usual run-of-the-mill greasy spoon lunch joint. Boy would you be wrong! As you get closer, take a look through the fridge that forms the front counter.

A physio who was treating me recommended this place for their Vanilla Slice, and every time I go there I am forced to resist its sweet icing, delicious custard and delicately crisp base. So why do I resist? Well if you take a look at the rest of the cakes, you will start to understand…

I have tried their cheesecake (okay), profiteroles (fine) Chocolate Truffle Cake (Oh, Oh, Oh!), and a lovely light creamy and delicate Strawberry Delight Torte (loved by all my gluten eating extended family). I’ll tell you about the savoury pastries and breads another time. Tune in, peeps!

Shop 10 A Winthrop Village Shopping Centre, Somerville Blvd, Winthrop – shaded al fresco dining available

